Willie Nelson - The Border

Het no-nonsense
internet radio station
Ga naar de inhoud

Willie Nelson - The Border

Gepubliceerd in Album van de week · zaterdag 15 jun 2024
The Border is the 75th solo studio album by American singer-songwriter Willie Nelson. It was released on May 31, 2024, through Legacy Recordings. Produced by Buddy Cannon, the album contains four original songs by Nelson and Cannon along with six songs from songwriters such as Rodney Crowell, Shawn Camp and Mike Reid.

The album's lead single and title track, a cover of Crowell and Allen Shamblin's song "The Border" from Crowell's 2019 album Texas, was released on March 14, 2024.
Cowritten by Rodney Crowell and Allen Shamblin for Crowell’s 2019 Texas album (a thematic tribute to the Lone Star State which featured guest artist Willie Nelson), “The Border” describes the inner life and outer reality of a border guard (“I work on the border, I see what I see”) with Crowell’s composition described in Rolling Stone as “more humanist than political, but no less tragic because of it.” Willie’s wise worldly take on the provocative song taps into an urgent universal relevancy that defines The Border.
The Border (his 152nd album, according to Texas Monthly’s interactive All Willie Nelson Albums Ranked list) premieres 10 newly recorded Willie Nelson studio performances including four new Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon compositions–“Once Upon a Yesterday,” “What If I’m Out of My Mind,” “Kiss Me When You’re Through” and “How Much Does It Cost”–and “Hank’s Guitar,” a new song cowritten by Buddy Cannon and Bobby Tomberlin.

In keeping with his longstanding tradition of shining a light on country music’s finest songwriters, Willie rounded out The Border, his first album in 2024, with his versions of compositions by Larry Cordle & Erin Enderlin (“I Wrote This Song For You”), Rodney Crowell & Will Jennings (“Many a Long and Lonesome Highway”), Shawn Camp & Monty Holmes (“Made in Texas”) and Mike Reid (“Nobody Knows Me Like You”).

Produced by longtime musical collaborator Buddy Cannon, The Border showcases Willie Nelson (lead vocals, Trigger) accompanied by Mickey Raphael (harmonica), Bobby Terry (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, steel guitar), James Mitchell (electric guitar), Jim “Moose” Brown (Wurlitzer, B-3 organ, piano, synthesizer), Fred Eltringham (drums, percussion) and Barry Bales (upright bass); backing vocals are by Buddy Cannon, and Melonie Cannon. The Border features cover art depicting the Big Bend border area between Texas and Mexico.

WebRadio Marmusic.nl
© 2012-2019 marmusic
Terug naar de inhoud